The southeast Europe countries speakers and V4 Group signed in Budapest the European Union Enlargement Statement.

04.11.2019 - 13:15

The Statement was signed by the president of the National Assembly of Hungary Laslo Kever, the president of the National Assembly of the Republic of Srpska Nedeljko Cubrilovic, the president of the National Assembly of Serbia Maja Gojkovic, president of the AP Vojvodina Assembly Istvan Pastor, the president of the Asssembly of Montenegro Ivan Brajovic, the president of the North Macedonia parliament Talat Dzaferi, the president of the Albania parliament Vailika Hisi and the president of the parliament of the Federation of BiH Mirsad Zaimovic, as well as the chiefs of the V4 Group: JAROSLAV Kubera, El\bjeta Vitek, Andrej Danko .

The Statement stresses that the speakers of the parliaments of the southeast Europe and the V4 group increase their support for the EU enlargement. They draw the attention of the chiefs of the member states on the Article 49 of the Treaty on European Union which states that the key for the success and prosperity is the right of every EU country to become a member state if they share common values.

“The politics of enlargement was one of the most successful EU politics. EU has to be opened towards those countries which share common values which are in the EU basis and which are ready to harmonize with the EU standards. Therefore this politics of enlargement has to be stronger “says the Statement.  

 The accession of the countries of Southeast Europe to the EU, it is added, not only affects the security, stability and prosperity of the region itself, but also the whole continent.

"The presidents believe that it is a historical mistake that the last meeting of the European Council could not make the decision to start accession negotiations with the two candidate countries that met the required conditions," the statement says..

The presidents urges the political leaders of the EU member states to do everything they can to reach a decision on the start of accession negotiations with Albania and Northern Macedonia as soon as possible.

They express the hope that the joint efforts of EU Member States, EU institutions and candidate countries will lead to enlargement of the Union in the coming years.

"The Speakers urge the President of the National Assembly of Hungary to forward this statement to the President of the European Council, the President of the Council of the EU, the Presidents of the European Parliament and the European Commission, as well as all the Speakers of the national parliaments of the Member States of the European Union," the EU Enlargement statement concluded.